Cheese, Bacon, And Onion Quiche Recipe

Published September 30, 2012 by thepinkgourmet

I don’t know a man who wouldn’t eat this Quiche.  How can you resist bacon, eggs, onion,  & cheese in a flaky crust?  The addition of the nutmeg makes this special.  I made this for dinner but it is also good for breakfast or brunch.  You can have this made in just over an hour.  I promise you won’t be disappointed. This also freezes very well!

Cheese, Bacon, And Onion Quiche Recipe

Source

Ingredients

1 single-crust Basic Pastry
6 slices bacon, cut into 2 inch pieces
1 small onion, chopped
3 eggs
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup heavy cream
1 cup shredded Swiss cheese
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon pepper

Directions

Line quiche or pie pan with pastry.
Cook bacon until crisp.
Drain; place in pie shell.
Saute onion in bacon fat until lightly browned.
Drain off fat.
Off heat, stir in eggs, milk, cream, cheese, and seasonings.
Pour into pastry-lined pan.
Bake in preheated 375 °F oven 25 minutes or until knife plunged into custard comes out clean.
      
The first step is to cut your bacon into 2 inch pieces and cook it in a skillet till crisp.
This is what my bacon looked like when it was done….
          
Next you want to saute your onions in the bacon fat.
You want your onions to be golden in color.  I like mine caramelized.
I grated my Swiss cheese while my onions were cooking.
      
Next I rolled out my pie crust.  I used Pillsbury refrigerated in a box.  I just rolled it a little thinner.
             
Fold your pie crust in half and gently place it into your Quiche pan or pie pan.
Make sure you press your dough around your pan evenly.
           
Prick your crust and bake it in a 400 degree oven just until slightly brown, about 6 minutes.
Next I assembled my cream(I used all cream), salt, pepper, and I added nutmeg.
           
I used room temperature eggs.  Whisk them till they are foamy.
Next whisk in your cream and seasonings.
           
Crumble the bacon over the bottom of the crust and then add the sautéed onions.
I then sprinkled part of the cheese over the onions.
         
Mix the rest of the cheese into the egg and cream mixture and pour it into the crust over the layer of cheese.  I then dotted about 2 tablespoons of cut up butter over the top.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes.  Cook only until the custard does not shake and a knife stuck in the middle comes out clean.
The top should be golden in color and crust brown but not too dark.
Wait about ten minutes after it comes out of the oven before you cut it.  That way it will come out easier.  As Julia Child used to say  “Bon Appetit”!  It was very light with a lot of flavor.  Don’t let it fool you.  It is very rich and filling.
I must admit I did go back for seconds.
I give this recipe plus out of 4……
Leave a Reply

artforeveryone1965

The Walking Artist

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Cabana Boy Cleaning

Cleaning Tips,Recipes,Urban Farming

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

Our Thrifty House

saving money and saving the environment, one step at a time

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Eat.Well.

Weekend Cooking Adventures of Natalie Biggs

Disashi Soul

Labels are limitations. Dig deeper!

fadetheprompt

two girls cooking without recipes

Algarve Blog

Sharing the Algarve with you

Who I am

Still Trying to Figure Things Out

Recipes For Our Daily Bread

My name is Diane Roark. I blog about easy recipes to help you put dinner on the table quickly. I love those Southern recipes for special occasions too. Pour a glass of sweet tea, pull up a chair and let's talk recipes.

Gypsy Roller's Veggie Kitchen

Delicious meatless recipes straight from my kitchen in the Fraser Valley, British Columbia!

the chef mimi blog

So Much Food. So Little Time.

Sufey

Inhale Joy, Exhale Gratitude

Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Teresa's adventures sharing our family's favorite recipes and trying new recipes

