Creamy Mushroom Bake

Published September 3, 2012 by thepinkgourmet

Sometimes I don’t want meat for dinner but I do want something hearty.  Mushrooms are always a good choice. I decided on a Creamy Mushroom Bake.  This is really a side dish but I used it as a main course. It was very good!  It was rich, creamy and filling.   I did not feel like I was missing out on anything.  I also added a small salad with it.

Creamy Mushroom Bake
Source

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Cook Time: 25 minutes

Yield: Serves 6-8

Ingredients

Preparation

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter shallow baking dish.
  2. Arrange mushrooms in dish stemmed side down.
  3. Melt 1/2 cup butter in small saucepan over low heat. Increase heat to medium-high, blend in flour and cook for 3 minutes, stirring constantly.
  4. Pour in half and half and bring to a boil.
  5. Mix in stock and pepper and return to boil. Pour sauce evenly over mushroom.
  6. Bake for 20-25 minutes until mushrooms look tender.
  7. Sprinkle with bread/cheese mixture and continue baking until cheese melts, approximately 5 minutes.
  8. Serve hot.

The first step is to butter a shallow baking dish.  This is one of my favorite baking dishes…

Put your mushrooms in the buttered baking dish.  I used sliced baby bella mushrooms.  The recipe calls for button mushrooms.  I say use your favorite. 🙂

Next I went ahead and grated my parmesan cheese and mixed it with my panko crumbs.  I also recommend using panko crumbs instead of  bread crumbs.

           

Next you want to melt your butter in a small saucepan over low heat. I just used ordinary store butter.

      

When the butter is melted increase the heat to medium-high and add your flour.  Stir constantly for 3 minutes.

It should look like this after 3 minutes.

Add your half and half and bring to a boil.

It does not take long to come to a boil.  Make sure you are stirring constantly.

Add your chicken stock and ground pepper.

        

You want to stir this until it comes back to a boil. It should be getting thick now.

Pour the sauce over the mushrooms.  Bake in preheated 350 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes.  I cooked mine about 35 minutes.  You want your mushrooms to be tender.

This is what it looked like after about 35 minutes.

Take it out of the oven and sprinkle the panko crumb/cheese mixture over the top of the mushrooms and cook about 5 more minutes till the cheese melts.

This is what it looks like when it is done.  All you need to do now is plate it and enjoy!!!  Mine was delicious!  I will definitely be making this again……

I give this recipe out of 4……

Leave a Reply

artforeveryone1965

The Walking Artist

Don Charisma

because anything is possible with Charisma

Our Growing Paynes

A journey about cooking, traveling, gardening, and crafting.

Mama's Gotta Bake

she's bad, she's bold...and she likes sugar

Trkingmomoe's Blog

Low Budget Meals for the New Normal

Cabana Boy Cleaning

Cleaning Tips,Recipes,Urban Farming

d|gI+Al hEGeM0n ...d|g|Z|nE

Works of Thought... And Pictures of My Soul

Our Thrifty House

saving money and saving the environment, one step at a time

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Eat.Well.

Weekend Cooking Adventures of Natalie Biggs

Disashi Soul

Labels are limitations. Dig deeper!

fadetheprompt

two girls cooking without recipes

Algarve Blog

Sharing the Algarve with you

Who I am

Still Trying to Figure Things Out

Recipes For Our Daily Bread

My name is Diane Roark. I blog about easy recipes to help you put dinner on the table quickly. I love those Southern recipes for special occasions too. Pour a glass of sweet tea, pull up a chair and let's talk recipes.

Gypsy Roller's Veggie Kitchen

Delicious meatless recipes straight from my kitchen in the Fraser Valley, British Columbia!

the chef mimi blog

So Much Food. So Little Time.

Sufey

Inhale Joy, Exhale Gratitude

Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Teresa's adventures sharing our family's favorite recipes and trying new recipes

